Transatlantyk Film Music Competition

Call for Entries! TRANSATLANTYK FESTIVAL 2015 announces Transatlantyk Film Music Competition!
Transatlantyk Film Music Competition
Compositon Contests
Transatlantyk Film Music Competition is intended for composers who appreciate the opportunity to create music polished in every detail. TRANSATLANTYK FESTIVAL provides young artists with two short films, to which the composers create original soundtracks. Organizers leave the young artists an unlimited field of imagination. The choice of the instrumentation and the character of the music depends solely on the contestants. The submitted works - full, professionally prepared mock-ups are required - are then evaluated by an international committee of prominent experts. The audience meets only a selected elite group of 10 finalists.

Transatlantyk Film Music Competition gives young artists many opportunities. High monetary prizes (first prize is 20 thousand PLN), tough competition, and the presence of the jury composed of distinguished representatives of the world of music and film who assess the work of the finalists, give the competition international significance. In recent years, the international jury included: Marco Beltrami, Christopher Young, Richard Gladstein, Petr Zelenka, Jan AP Kaczmarek, Robert Townson, Mark Isham, et al. Competition’s laureates, such as Matthijs Kieboom, Nicholas Stroiński, Krzysztof A. Janczak, Garth Neustadter or Xiaotian Shi successfully developed their international careers. They all appreciate the positive influence of TRANSATLANTYK FESTIVAL. Along with the title of the Transatlantyk Young Composer 2015, the winner will receive:
  • Transatlantyk Young Composer Award – First Prize - 20 000 PLN

Winners of the second and third prize will receive:
  • Transatlantyk Young Composer Award – Second Prize - 7 500 PLN
  • Transatlantyk Young Composer Award – Third Prize - 2 500 PLN
  • July 10th, 2015 – Competition Opening (Competition’s films ready for download)
  • July 31st, 2015 – Composition submission deadline and registration fees deadline
  • August 3rd, 2015 – Announcement of the finalists
  • August 13th, 2014 – The final (screening of the finalists’ films for the jury and the audience)
  • August 14th, 2014 – Announcement of the competition winners and presentation of the awards during the Closing Gala

All auditions are taking place at Sala Wielka Zamek Culture Centre in Poznan. We’re happy to invite You to watch the Competition. Entrance for the audience is free.


The list of winners of Transatlantyk Film Music Competition 2015:
  1. Andrea Grant - Italy
  2. Bartosch McCarthy - Germany
  3. Leeran Raphaely - USA and Paweł Litwińczyk - Poland (ex aequo)
Special mention:
Roozbeh Parandeh - Iran and Rovshan Asgarzade - Azerbaijan


The list of composers qualified to the final of Transatlantyk Film Music Competition 2015:

  1. Bartosch McCarthy - Germany
  2. Maciej Dobrowolski - Poland
  3. Sebastiano Ermanno - Italy
  4. Andrea Grant - Italy
  5. Levente Kovacs - Hungary
  6. Marcin Kuczewski - Poland
  7. Paweł Litwińczyk - Poland
  8. James Newberry - USA
  9. Roozbeh Parandeh - Iran and Rovshan Asgarzade - Azerbaijan
  10. Leeran Raphaely - USA
The level of this year's competition was extremely high. We want to thank all the participants of Transatlantyk Film Music Competition and invite you to participate in the Festival.


The jury of the competition is composed of: John Debney (president), Jan A.P. Kaczmarek, Andrzej Maleszka, Dorota Kędzierzawska and Michael P. Aust.

Download materials:

Application form

Rules of participation

Film 1
Film 2

(In order for the films to play correctly it is advised to download them to the computer. Some browsers may not play the films correctly)


Paulina Wieczorek

This site uses cookies. By leaving your browser's cookie settings at default, you agree to that. ZAMKNIJ